SOLAS INT > Community > Scientific steering committee

Scientific Steering Committee

The SOLAS Scientific Steering Committee (SSC) represents a broad spectrum of disciplines and nationalities, and includes both mid-career and senior scientists. The continuing success of SOLAS relies on the input of its engaged members.
The SSC members are responsible for providing scientific guidance to, and overseeing the development, planning and implementation of the SOLAS project. They are tasked to communicate on ongoing SOLAS activities and to encourage the publication and dissemination of SOLAS science results. They are also expected to communicate with the SOLAS International Office regularly on various issues.

The SSC members are appointed by the four SOLAS parent programmes, WCRP, SCOR, iCACGP and Future Earth for a first term of 3 years, renewable once. The term of reference of an SSC member can be found under this link.

The SSC members meet physically in average and at least once per year for a 3-day SSC meeting.

2019 SOLAS Scientific Steering Committee members
files/solas-int/content/images/community/SOLAS Group 1.JPG
Participants in the SOLAS SSC meeting 2018. Standing left to right: Mohd Talib Latif, Ilan Koren, Anna Rutgersson, Véronique Garçon, Erik van Doorn, Jim Drummond, Laura Gallardo, Maurice Levasseur, Katye Altieri, Jun Nishioka, Arne Körtzinger, Christian George. Kneeling left to right: Parvadha Suntharalingam, Santiago Gassó, Lisa Miller, Guiling Zhang, Peter Minnett. Missing: Cristina Facchini, Alfonso Saiz-Lopez. Photo credit: Jessica Gier.
Lisa Miller (Canada)
Expertise: sea-Ice bgc and marine
inorganic bgc

Katye Altieri
(South Africa) 
Expertise:atmospheric molecules,
climate policy
Philip Boyd (Australia)
Expertise: ocean and atm iron bgc, marine geoeng., multi stressors, phytopl. processes
Erik van Doorn (Germany)
Expertise: law of the Sea
(Exec Cmt member)
Expertise: physical and chemical processes in
multiphase atm. systems
Expertise: atmospheric modeling,pollutants
Expertise: remote sensing, aerosols, dust transport

Arne Körtzinger (Germany) 
Expertise: carbon cycle, ocean observation

Mohd Talib Latif
Expertise: microlayer, atmosph. aerosols

(Exec Cmt member)
Expertise: ocean bgc, dimethylsulfide, Arctic,
ice algae
Anoop Mahajan (India) (NEW)
Expertise: Atm chemistry, halogens, climate modelling
Expertise: air-sea physical interaction
Jun Nishioka (Japan)
Expertise: ocean trace metal bgc cycle,
polar oceanog. and sea-ice bgc
Jurgita Ovadnevaite (Ireland) (NEW)
Expertise: Aerosol chem, physics, and cloud processes
Expertise: air-sea physical interaction
Expertise: numerical modeling, biogeochemical cycles of carbon, nitrogen and sulphur

Guiling Zhang (China)
Expertise: biogeochemistry of trace gases

The SOLAS SSC meeting 2018 was held in Victoria, BC, Canada, on 2-4 May 2018 and was supported by:


Canadian National Committee for SCOR
Fonds de recherche sur la nature et les technologies Québec (FRQNT) files/solas-int/content/downloads/community/pdf/SSC/Logo_FRQNT.jpg
Future Earth files/solas-int/content/images/logos/FE_Logo.png
Ocean Networks Canada (ONC) files/solas-int/content/images/logos/solas-logos/ONC_Octopus_Logo_RGB.png
 Pacific Institute for Climate Solutions files/solas-int/content/images/logos/solas-logos/PICS_Logo.jpg
Scientific Committee
on Oceanic Research (SCOR)
University of Victoria files/solas-int/content/images/logos/solas-logos/uvic.png


- last update January 2019-