6th Summer School 2013

The 6th SOLAS Summer School took place from 23rd August to 2nd September 2013 for the first time in Xiamen, China . In total, 69 students from 24 countries and 15 scientists attended the School in 2013.


The School was co-chaired by Dr. Véronique Garçon from the National Centre for Space Studies / Laboratory of Space Geophysical and Oceanographic Studies (CNES/LEGOS), France, and Dr. Minhan Dai of Xiamen University, China. In total, 69 students from 24 different countries attended the summer school along with 15 world-leading scientists.
The Summer School 2013 consisted of lectures as well as interactive practical sessions and oral as well as poster presentations. Finally, prizes were awarded for the best oral and poster presentations. As always, the focus was also on networking. Networking opportunities were provided by the walks through Xiamen to explore the surrounding area as well as other cultural side happenings.


The below documents of the 6th SOLAS Summer School are available for download:
Summer School 2013 - Flyer
Summer School 2013 - Programme
Summer School 2013 - Handbook
Summer School 2013 - Cruise and Laboratory Practical Workshops - Handbook
Download the SOLAS Newsletter Issue 16

Alberto Piola Meixun Zhao
Bingzhang Chen Mingxi Yang
David Ho Minhan Dai
David Kieber Peter Liss
Eric Saltzman Phil Boyd
I-I Lin Phyllis Lam
KK Liu Roland von Glasow
Kitack Lee
Véronique Garçon
Laurent Bopp
Xianghui Guo
Liguo Guo Zhenyu Sun
Maurice Levasseur  


Damian L. Arévalo-Martínez Shan Gao Sarah-Anne Nicholson
Andrew Babbin Ayse Gazihan Akoglu Oluwaseun Ogunro
Priyanka Banerjee Elissar Gemayel Norma Oliva
Pratirupa Bardhan Abed El Rahman Hassoun Yuko Omori
Kausar Bepari Elise Heiss Clare Ostle
Hugo Berthelot Qing Jing Hu Hilary Palevsky
Umberto Binetti Rasiq Kelassanthodi Raissa Philibert
Carmen Macarena Burgos Martin Joanna Kinsey Zihan Qu
Brian Butterworth Kirill Kivva Jenni Ratten
Neil Clark Dorothee Kottmeier Sophie Renaut
Christopher Conrad Lilian Anne Krug Cristina Romera Castillo
Alexander Davies Young-shin Kwon Jana Schnieders
Hugh Doyle Marine Lasbleiz Cristina Schultz
Chuanjun Du Xuefeng Li Shlomit Sharoni
Gijjapu Durgarao Ying Liu Leilani Solera
Manab Kumar Dutta Joan Llort Ming Shuang Sun
Meri Eichner Marc Mallet Lan Wang
Susan Evans Pierre Marrec Yanjun Wang
Matthew Fishwick Eva Mayol Holly Winton
Ana Cristina Franco-Novela Precious Mongwe Agnieszka Witkowska
Natalie Freeman Lester Morgan Kwiatkowski Alexander Zavarsky
Steffen Fuhlbrügge Nayeem Mullungal Jie Xia Zhang
Marti Gali Yoshiko Murashima Yujiao Zhu

Poster presentation winners 2013

  • Shlomit Sharoni
  • Hilary Palevsky
  • Young-Shin Kwon
  • Meri Eichner

Best oral presentations 2013 - voted by lecturers

  • Eva Mayol
  • Natalie Freeman
  • Niel Clark

Best oral presentations 2013 - voted by students

  • Jana Schneider
  • Marie Philibert
  • Shlomit Sharoni

Impressions of the 6th SOLA Summer School 2013 which took place in Xiamen, China. Visit also the SOLAS Flickr account to see more pictures of SOLAS events and SOLAS-related research.