Scientific Steering Committee

The SOLAS Scientific Steering Committee (SSC) represents a broad spectrum of disciplines, nationalities, career stages. SOLAS continuing success relies on the input of its engaged members.

The Scientific Steering Committee (SSC) members are responsible for providing scientific guidance to, and overseeing the development, planning and implementation of SOLAS. They are tasked to communicate on ongoing SOLAS activities, encourage the publication and dissemination of SOLAS science results, and communicate with the SOLAS International Project Office regularly on various issues. The term of reference of an SSC member can be found here.

SSC members are appointed by the four SOLAS sponsors, Future Earth, iCACGP, SCOR, and WCRP for a first term of 3 years, renewable once. The SSC members meet physically in average and at least once per year for a 3-day meeting.

2017: Bologna, Italy, 19-21 June.
2018
: Victoria, BC, Canada, 2-4 May.
2019: Jozankei, Japan, 26-28 April.
2020: Online, 7-8 Sep, 5-8 Oct, and 11-13 Nov.

SSC Members Contacts

Minhan Dai (SSC Co-Chair)

State Key Laboratory of Marine Environmental Science, China

mdai@xmu.edu.cn
Website
Expertise: carbon and nutrient bgc, trace metals, ocean acidification

Cliff Law (SSC Co-Chair)

National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research, New Zealand

cliff.law@niwa.co.nz
NIWA website, OTAGO website

Expertise: marine bgc, trace gases

Katye Altieri (Exec. committee)

University of Cape Town, South Africa

katye.altieri@uct.ac.za
Website

Expertise: atmospheric molecules, climate policy

Marcela Cornejo D'Ottone

Universidad Católica de Valparaíso, Chile

marcela.cornejo@pucv.cl
Website

Expertise: nutrient and greenhouse gases cycling, upwelling

Erik van Doorn

Walther-Schücking-Institute for International Law, Germany

edoorn@wsi.uni-kiel.de
Website

Expertise: law of the sea

Santiago Gassó

University of Maryland/NASA, USA

sgasso@umd.edu
Website

Expertise: remote sensing, aerosols, dust transport

Maria Kanakidou

University of Crete, Greece

mariak@uoc.gr
Website

Expertise: chemistry-climate modelling, bgc, air pollutants

Arne Körtzinger

GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel, Germany

akoertzinger@geomar.de
Website
Expertise: carbon cycle, ocean observation

Mohd Talib Latif

The National University of Malaysia, Malaysia

talib@ukm.edu.my
Website

Expertise: microlayer, atmosph. aerosols

Andrew Lenton

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, Australia

andrew.lenton@csiro.au
Website
Expertise: Theme 1, modelling the carbon-cycle, climate intervention

Anoop Mahajan

Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology, India

anoop@tropmet.res.in
Website
Expertise: atm chemistry, halogens, climate modelling

Lisa Miller (ex officio SSC Chair)

Institute of Ocean Sciences, Canada

lisa.miller@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Website

Expertise: sea-ice bgc, marine inorganic bgc

Peter Minnett

University of Miami, USA

pminnett@rsmas.miami.edu
Website

Expertise: air-sea physical interaction

Jun Nishioka (Exec. committee)

Institute of Low Temperature Science, Japan

nishioka@lowtem.hokudai.ac.jp
Website
Expertise: ocean trace metal bgc cycle, polar oceanog., sea-ice bgc

Jurgita Ovadnevaite (Exec. committee)

National University of Ireland, Ireland

jurgita.ovadnevaite@nuigalway.ie
Website

Expertise: aerosol chem, physics, cloud processes

Anna Rutgersson

University Uppsala, Sweden

anna.rutgersson@met.uu.se
Website

Expertise: air-sea physical interaction

Parvadha Suntharalingam

University of East Anglia, UK

p.suntharalingam@uea.ac.uk
Website

Expertise: numerical modeling, biogeochemical cycles of C, N, and S

Guiling Zhang

Ocean University of China, China

guilingzhang@ouc.edu.cn
Website

Expertise: biogeochemistry of trace gases

Past Scientific Steering Committee Members

Name

Years served

Name

Years served

Emmanuel Boss

3

Phil Boyd

6

Isabel Cacho Lasco

6

Elsa Cortijo

4

Minhan Dai

6

Ken Denman

5

Anja Engel

6

Cristina Facchini

6

Diego Gaiero

3

Laura Gallardo

3

Huiwang Gao

6

Christoph Garbe

6

Veronique Garcon

6

Roland von Glasow

6

Michelle Graco

6

Cecile Guieu

7

Sergey Gulev

6

Christoph Heinze

6

Barry Huebert

7

Tim Jickells

6

Truls Johannessen

7

Dave Kieber

6

Gerbrand Komen

2

Ilan Koren

6

Nilgun Kubilay

2

Dileep Kumar

3

Christiane Lancelot

5

Cliff Law

6
Gerrit de Leeuw 6 Maurice Levasseur

6

Peter Liss 7 Paty Matrai

6

Wade McGillis 6 Bill Miller

5

Yukihiro Nojiri

6

Uli Platt

6

Trish Quinn

6

Katherine Richardson

2

Alfonso Saiz-Lopez

5

Eric Saltzman

7

VVSS Sarma

3

Peter Schlosser

4

Guang-Yu Shi

6

Rafel Simo

6

Jacqueline Stefels

6

Shigenobu Takeda

6

Mits Uematsu

6

Osvaldo Ulloa

5

Ilana Wainer

2

Doug Wallace

8

Brian Ward

6

 

 

 

Sponsors

Funders