Scientific Steering Committee

The SOLAS Scientific Steering Committee (SSC) represents a broad spectrum of disciplines, nationalities, career stages. SOLAS continuing success relies on the input of its engaged members.

The Scientific Steering Committee (SSC) members are responsible for providing scientific guidance to, and overseeing the development, planning and implementation of SOLAS. They are tasked to communicate on ongoing SOLAS activities, encourage the publication and dissemination of SOLAS science results, and communicate with the SOLAS International Project Office regularly on various issues. The term of reference of an SSC member can be found here.

SSC members are appointed by the four SOLAS sponsors, Future Earth, iCACGP, SCOR, and WCRP for a first term of 3 years, renewable once. The SSC members meet physically in average and at least once per year for a 3-day meeting.

2017: The SOLAS SSC meeting took place 19 - 21 June in Bologna, Italy.
2018
: The SOLAS SSC meeting took place 2 - 4 May in Victoria, BC, Canada.
2019: The SOLAS SSC meeting took place 26 - 28 April in Jozankei, Japan.
2020: The SOLAS SSC meeting will take place 1 - 3 April 2020 in Santiago, Chile. **Cancelled - a new date will be announced.**

SSC Members Contacts

Lisa Miller (SOLAS SSC Chair)

Institute of Ocean Sciences, Canada

lisa.miller@dfo-mpo.gc.ca
Website

Expertise: sea-ice bgc and marine inorganic bgc

Maurice Levasseur (Executive committee)

Laval University, Canada

maurice.levasseur@bio.ulaval.ca
Website
Expertise: ocean bgc, dimethylsulfide, Arctic, ice algae

Katye Altieri (Executive committee)

University of Cape Town, South Africa

katye.altieri@uct.ac.za
Website

Expertise: atmospheric molecules, climate policy

Anoop Mahajan

Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology, India

anoop@tropmet.res.in
Website
Expertise: atm chemistry, halogens, climate modelling

Andrew Lenton

Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation, Australia

andrew.lenton@csiro.au
Website
Expertise: Theme 1, modelling the carbon-cycle, climate intervention

Peter Minnett

University of Miami, USA

pminnett@rsmas.miami.edu
Website

Expertise: air-sea physical interaction

Erik van Doorn

Walther-Schücking-Institute for International Law, Germany

edoorn@wsi.uni-kiel.de
Website

Expertise: law of the sea

Jun Nishioka (Executive committee)

Institute of Low Temperature Science, Japan

nishioka@lowtem.hokudai.ac.jp
Website
Expertise: ocean trace metal bgc cycle, polar oceanog. and sea-ice bgc

Cristina Facchini

Institute of Atmospheric Sciences and Climate, Italy

mc.facchini@isac.cnr.it
Website
Expertise: physical and chemical processes in multiphase atm. systems

Jurgita Ovadnevaite

National University of Ireland, Ireland

jurgita.ovadnevaite@nuigalway.ie
Website

Expertise: aerosol chem, physics, and cloud processes

Laura Gallardo

University of Chile, Chile

laura@dgf.uchile.cl
Website

Expertise: atmospheric modeling, pollutants

Anna Rutgersson

University Uppsala, Sweden

anna.rutgersson@met.uu.se
Website

Expertise: air-sea physical interaction

Santiago Gassó

University of Maryland/NASA, USA

sgasso@umd.edu
Website

Expertise: remote sensing, aerosols, dust transport

Parvadha Suntharalingam

University of East Anglia, UK

p.suntharalingam@uea.ac.uk
Website

Expertise: numerical modeling, biogeochemical cycles of C, N, and S

Arne Körtzinger

GEOMAR Helmholtz-Zentrum für Ozeanforschung Kiel, Germany

akoertzinger@geomar.de
Website
Expertise: carbon cycle, ocean observation

Guiling Zhang

Ocean University of China, China

guilingzhang@ouc.edu.cn
Website

Expertise: biogeochemistry of trace gases

Mohd Talib Latif

The National University of Malaysia, Malaysia

talib@ukm.edu.my
Website

Expertise: microlayer, atmosph. aerosols

Past Scientific Steering Committee Members

Name

Years served

Name

Years served

Alfonso Saiz-Lopez

5

Jacqueline Stefels

6

Anja Engel

6

Katherine Richardson

2

Barry Huebert

7

Ken Denman

5

Bill Miller

5

Michelle Graco

6

Brian Ward

6

Minhan Dai

6

Cecile Guieu

7

Mits Uematsu

6

Christiane Lancelot

5

Nilgun Kubilay

2

Christoph Garbe

6

Osvaldo Ulloa

5

Christoph Heinze

6

Paty Matrai

6

Cliff Law

6

Peter Liss

7

Dave Kieber

6

Peter Schlosser

4

Diego Gaiero

3

Phil Boyd

6

Dileep Kumar

3

Rafel Simo

6

Doug Wallace

8

Roland von Glasow

6

Elsa Cortijo

4

Sergey Gulev

6

Emmanuel Boss

3

Shigenobu Takeda

6

Eric Saltzman

7

Tim Jickells

6

Gerbrand Komen

2

Trish Quinn

6

Gerrit de Leeuw

6

Truls Johannessen

7

Guang-Yu Shi

6

Uli Platt

6

Huiwang Gao

6

Veronique Garcon

6

Ilan Koren

6

VVSS Sarma

3

Ilana Wainer

2

Wade McGillis

6

Isabel Cacho Lasco

6

Yukihiro Nojiri

6

 

Sponsors

Funders