National and Regional Networks

SOLAS has 29 scientific National and Regional Networks around the world. Contact details of the representatives are below. The national and regional annual reports are listed here.

The SOLAS National and Regional Representatives represent SOLAS around the world. Currently SOLAS has 29 scientific National and Regional Networks with 34 Representatives around the world. This valuable global network compiles the results and highlights of SOLAS-related research every year in the form of annual reports. This precious documentation of SOLAS-relevant research around the world is unique and available to anyone interested. All available annual reports can be found here.

Africa

Katye Altieri

University of Cape Town, South Africa

katye.altieri@uct.ac.za
Website

Expertise: atmospheric molecules, climate policy

Asia

Huiwang Gao

Ocean University of China, Qingdao, China

hwgao@ouc.edu.cn
Website
Expertise: atmospheric deposition, nitrogen cycle, chlorophyll distribution.

Chonlin Lee

National Sun Yat-sen University, Kaohsiung City, China, Taiwan

a0780047@g-mail.nsysu.edu.tw
Website
Expertise: air sea and long range transport, SML, organic pollutants.

Sheryl Oliveira Fernandes

School of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences, Goa University, Goa, India

sheryl@unigoa.ac.in
Website
Expertise: marine microbial ecology, marine biogeochemistry.

Yoav Lehahn

Charney School of Marine Sciences, University of Haifa, Haifa, Israel

ylehahn@univ.haifa.ac.il
Website
Expertise: remote sensing, biophysical interactions in marine systems.

Yuzo Miyazaki

Institute of Low Temperature Science, Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan

yuzom@lowtem.hokudai.ac.jp
Website
Expertise: organic aerosols, bgc, aerosol-climate interactions.

Kitack Lee

Pohang University of Science and Technology, Pohang, Korea

ktl@postech.ac.kr
Website
Expertise: ocean acidification, ocean C uptake, anthropogenic nitrogen.

Nazlı Olğun Kıyak

Istanbul Technical University, Istanbul, Turkey

nokiyak@itu.edu.tr, nazliolgun@gmail.com
Website
Expertise: marine geochemistry, chemical oceanography, bgc.

Mustafa Koçak

Middle East Technical University, Çankaya, Turkey

Barış Salihoğlu

Middle East Technical University, Çankaya, Turkey

Australia & New Zealand

Andrew Bowie

University of Tasmania, Hobart, Australia

andrew.bowie@utas.edu.au
Website
Expertise: marine bgc, chemical oceanography, trace elements, atmospheric deposition.

Ruhi Humphries

CSIRO, Aspendale, Australia

ruhi.humphries@csiro.au
Website

Expertise: atmospheric aerosols, atmospheric dynamics.

Mike Harvey

NIWA Research, Wellington, New Zealand

mike.harvey@niwa.co.nz
Website
Expertise: marine sulfur cycle, aerosol-cloud interaction, N₂O, GHG emissions and mitigation.

Europe

Nathalie Gypens

Université Libre de Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium

Nathalie.Gypens@ulb.be
Website
Expertise: bgc modelling, marine bgc cycles (C, N, P, Si), climate change.

Lise Lotte Sørensen

Denmark

Mikael Sejr

Denmark

Lauri Laakso

Finnish Meteorological Institute, Helsinki, Finland

Lauri.Laakso@fmi.fi
Website
Expertise: atmospheric, marine and ecosystem observations.

Rémi Losno

Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris, Université de Paris, Paris, France

losno@ipgp.fr
Website, website SOLAS France
Expertise: chemistry, environment, atmosphere, interfaces, analyses.

Christa Marandino

GEOMAR Helmholtz Centre for Ocean Research Kiel, Germany

cmarandino@geomar.de
Website
Expertise: trace gas biogeochemistry, air-sea exchange.

Hartmut Herrmann

Leibniz Institute for Tropospheric Research, Germany

hartmut.herrmann@tropos.de
Website
Expertise: air-sea exchange, marine atmospheric & aqueous chemistry.

Peter Croot

National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland

peter.croot@nuigalway.ie
Website
Expertise: productivity, biogeochemistry, aerosol deposition, chemical speciation.

Chiara Santinelli

National Research Council (CNR) Institute of Biophysics, Pisa, Italy

chiara.santinelli@ibf.cnr.it
Website La!DOM, website CRN
Expertise: carbon cycle, biogeochemistry, DOM.

Jan-Berend Stuut

Royal Netherlands Institute for Sea Research, Texel, Netherlands

jan-berend.stuut@nioz.nl
Website NIOZ, website VU
Expertise: dust, marine sediments, marine impacts, paleo-reconstructions.

Siv Kari Lauvset

NORCE Norwegian Research Centre, Bjerknes Centre for Climate Research, Norway

siv.lauvset@norceresearch.no
Website
Expertise: ocean carbon chemistry.

Tymon Zieliński

Institute of Oceanology Polish Academy of Sciences, Poland

tymon@iopan.pl
Website
Expertise: marine aerosols, air-sea interaction, climate change.

Alfonso Saiz-Lopez

Institute of Physical Chemistry Rocasolano (IQFR), Madrid, Spain

a.saiz@csic.es
Website, AC2 group website
Expertise: atmospheric chemistry, halogens, climate, bgc cycles.

Paul Zieger

Stockholm University, Stockholm, Sweden

paul.zieger@aces.su.se
Website
Expertise: aerosols, aerosol-cloud interactions, sea spray.

Thomas Bell

Plymouth Marine Laboratory, Plymouth, United Kingdom

tbe@pml.ac.uk
Website, PML Air-Sea Exchange group website
Expertise: air-sea gas exchange, biogeochemical cycling of trace gases.

North America

Martine Lizotte

Université Laval, Québec City, Canada

martine.lizotte@takuvik.ulaval.ca
Website, ReseachGate website

Expertise: ocean bgc, dimethylsulfide, arctic, multistressors, climate change.

Martín Hernández Ayón

University of Baja California, Ensenada, Mexico

jmartin@uabc.edu.mx
Website
Expertise: ocean acidification, ocean carbon bgc, marine chemistry

Rachel Stanley

Wellesley College, Wellesley, United States of America

rstanle2@wellesley.edu
Website
Expertise: air-sea gas exchange, biological productivity, oxygen cycle.

South America

Leticia Cotrim da Cunha

Rio de Janeiro State University, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

lcotrim@uerj.br
Website ORCID
Expertise: marine carbon cycle, coastal and open ocean biogeochemistry.

Laura Farias

Chile

Michelle Graco

Peru

Sponsors

Funders